SHARED GOVERNANCE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE MINUTES OF THE MEETING OF OCTOBER 21, 2019 3:00 P.M., UNA BOARD ROOM

The Shared Governance Executive Committee met at 3:00 p.m. on Monday, October 21, 2019, in the UNA Board Room. The following members were present: Dr. Ross Alexander, Mr. Sam Mashburn, Ms. Bliss Adkison for Dr. Molly Mathis, Dr. Amber Paulk, Dr. Greg Carnes for Dr. Vicki Pierce, Dr. Lee Renfroe, Dr. Terry Richardson, Mr. Jarrod Russell, Ms. Amy Thompson, Mr. Evan Thornton, and Dr. Leah Whitten. Chairperson Felecia Harris presided.

Call of Meeting to Order

Dr. Harris called the meeting to order.

Approval of Agenda

On motion by Dr. Richardson and second by Dr. Renfroe, the agenda was approved unanimously.

Approval of Minutes of the Meeting of September 23 and E-Business of September 27, 2019

On motion by Dr. Richardson and second by Dr. Renfroe, the minutes were approved unanimously.

Report from the Chair

Dr. Harris welcomed the proxies attending, Ms. Bliss Adkison for Dr. Mathis and Dr. Greg Carnes for Dr. Pierce, but otherwise had no report.

<u>Proposal from Greg Carnes Requesting Reconsideration of the One Year of Employment Requirement Prior to Committee Service</u>

Dr. Richardson made a motion that was seconded by Dr. Paulk and unanimously approved to remove from the Shared Governance Document the one-year employment requirement for committee service and return the one-year proposal to Originator Scott Infanger for resubmission through the appropriate constituent groups.

Proposal for the Creation of an Open Educational Resources (OER) Workgroup

Mr. Mashburn moved approval for consideration of the proposal. The motion was seconded by Dr. Richardson and unanimously approved. Dr. Richardson made a subsequent motion that was seconded by Mr. Mashburn and unanimously approved to submit the proposal to the Faculty and Staff Senates for input.

Institutional Review Board Replacement

John Parnell to replace Tanja Blackstone as the College of Business representative on the Institutional Review Board through August 2022 (Tanja Blackstone resigned from the committee) and request for a waiver of the one-year employment requirement

Dr. Richardson made a motion and Dr. Renfroe seconded the motion to recommend to President Kitts the appointment of John Parnell to fill the College of Business faculty position (Tanja Blackstone replacement) on the Institutional Review Board through August 2022. The motion was approved unanimously. The one-year employment requirement waiver was not addressed due to its removal earlier in the meeting.

International Programs/Offerings Committee Replacement

<u>Kathleen Richards to replace Lillian Akin as the Enrollment Management representative on the IPO Committee through August 2022</u>

Dr. Paulk made a motion and Dr. Richardson seconded the motion to recommend to President Kitts the appointment of Kathleen Richards to fill the Enrollment Management position (Lillian Akin replacement) on the International Programs/Offerings Committee through August 2022. The motion was approved unanimously.

<u>Information Item: Revisions to Section 2.8 of Faculty Handbook – Due Process Procedures</u>

<u>Proposal Rescinded by Originator (per communication from Amber Fite-Morgan to Faculty Senate President Lee Renfroe)</u>

This was an information item that required no action from the Committee.

Submission of Faculty Handbook Revisions to President upon Faculty Senate Approval

Lecturer/Senior Lecturer

Submission of Promotion/Tenure Evaluations

Incorporating Digital Measures (DM) into Promotion/Tenure Policy

Dr. Paulk made a motion and Dr. Renfroe seconded the motion to recommend transmittal of the three proposals to President Kitts for approval. The motion was approved unanimously.

Comments from Constituent Representatives

For the SGA, Mr. Mashburn reported the following: SGA is in full support of Open Educational Resources based on a presentation by the senior librarian at a recent SGA meeting; the Undergraduate Alternative Admissions proposal was approved by the SGA; and other proposals before the SGA (Academic Honesty, Admissions Appeal Policy, and Rescinding Admissions Policy), will be considered when the authors are invited to discuss the proposals at a future meeting. For the Staff Senate, Ms. Thompson reported the following: exploration of software workflow platforms for use with the new staff evaluation system is occurring while feedback on last year's process is gathered, a Visibility Committee has been created with Jeremy Woods as Chair, and a new Orientation Committee is being formed. For the Faculty Senate, Dr.

Renfroe reported that the Faculty Senate rejected the Academic Honesty Policy while additional information is gathered in the form of a presentation by the Originator and through an open forum. For the Administration, Dr. Alexander reported record enrollment of 8,014 as of this date in advance of the October 31 census date.

Upon motion by Ms. Thompson and s	second by Dr. Whitten, the meeting adjourned a
3:15 p.m.	
	Dr. Felecia Harris, Chairperson